Return To Blog

Special Dietary Needs? Tips for How You can Still Enjoy Pizza in Downers Grove

February 2, 2016

Pizza has become a staple in our American diets. But if you have a health condition or diet concern, such as Type 2 diabetes or food allergies, can you still partake? Fortunately, the answer is mostly yes, with some exceptions. The following information and tips will help you make diet-conscious choices when pizza is on the menu:

Because pizza is a complex food containing proteins, fats, and carbohydrates, it’s challenging to know how much you can eat and what to top it with to avoid high blood sugar. The following are some strategies for how you can enjoy pizza while also managing your blood sugar:
  • Stick to a balanced diet – Health experts at recommend obtaining 40 to 60 percent of your daily diet from carbohydrates, 20 to 35 percent from proteins, and 20 to 35 percent from fat. So if you know you’ll be eating pizza in any given day, measure your other food consumption accordingly. This also means limiting the amount of pizza you eat in one sitting to help you avoid spikes in blood sugar.
  • Pay attention to carbs – It’s a good idea to limit your intake of refined carbohydrates (such as anything made with white flour) and to mix refined and complex carbohydrates with other foods. When it comes to pizza, thin or whole wheat crust is best. And ordering lots of veggies on top will help balance out the refined carbohydrates in the pizza crust.
Food Allergies and Intolerances
According to’s allergen warnings for pizza, most pizza contains one or more of these top food allergens: peanuts, tree nuts, milk, eggs, wheat, soy, fish, and shellfish. While there may not be a pizza option for every sensitivity mentioned above, here are some tips for getting around some of the more common food allergies and intolerances:
  • If you are allergic to dairy, order your pizza without cheese—or add delicious non-dairy cheese as an alternative. On the other hand, if you have a cheese intolerance particular to the source of the milk, consider this: mozzarella, parmesan, and cheddar are all made from cow’s milk—with the exception of mozzarella de buffalo, which is made from buffalo milk—and feta cheese is usually made with a mix of goat and sheep’s milk, although some feta is made from cow’s milk, too (check with your pizza server to be sure).
  • Stick to red sauces if you have a tree nut allergy, as the pine nuts used in pesto sauce can trigger an allergic response.
  • Wheat, gluten, and egg allergies can crop up because of the pizza crust, which is usually made with wheat and eggs, but there are available alternatives.  While it’s difficult to have pizza without the crust, you can still enjoy a salad with many of your favorite pizza ingredients and flavors.  
As always, check with your healthcare provider to make sure you’re managing your condition and diet appropriately. And check out some of our other tips to stay healthy when ordering pizza.
For the best halal pizza in Downers Grove, come on over to Block Pizza. We use only the freshest ingredients and have a full menu of toppings, signature pizzas, salads, and more. Call 331-777-5789 or order online for pickup or delivery.