Return To Blog

Know Your Cheese: Halal-Certified Cheese on Your Pizza in Downers Grove

Halal Ingredients, Pizza Delivery, Fast Pizza, Cheese Pizza

November 20, 2015

What is a pizza without cheese? We don’t want to know! Mozzarella, the tried-and-true cheesy topping of pizzas everywhere, is just one of the many varieties of cheese that taste great on a pizza. Try something new on your pizza tonight – take a look at Block Pizza’s menu and you will see that we offer not just traditional mozzarella, but five different cheese options to choose from—and all of them are halal-certified. So what makes each of our cheeses unique? Let’s find out.
  • Mozzarella – Traditionally made from the milk of water buffaloes in countries such as Italy and Bulgaria, today’s mozzarella cheese is now made from cow’s milk and is still considered an Italian creation. This white, milky-flavored cheese favorite is supple and springy in texture, and we are happy to offer both a shredded and a fresh version on our menu.
  • Parmesan – Also called Parmigiano Reggiano, true parmesan is made from cows which were grazed on fresh grass and hay. Cheese connoisseurs love this hard, gritty-in-texture cheese which can easily be grated—which is why it’s a great pizza cheese—or eaten on its own as a snack. Parmesan is named after the Italian provinces in which it’s made: Parma, Reggio Emilia, Modena, Bologna, and Mantua.
  • Cheddar – Taking a departure from Italy, this cheese, originally from England, is also made from cow’s milk and is now produced all over the world. Cheddar is widely purchased and eaten, and is characterized by its white to pale yellow color, firm and slightly crumbly texture, and its full flavor similar to that of a hazelnut. Cheddar’s flavor sharpens over time as it ages.
  • Feta – And now we head to Greece, where feta cheese is a staple. Only feta manufactured in Macedonia, Thrace, Thessaly, Central Mainland Greece, the Peloponnese, and Lesvos can be called such. Feta is made from 30 percent goat’s milk mixed with sheep’s milk, although some feta is made with cow’s milk these days. A pickled cheese produced in a brine solution, it has an unmistakable strong, salty taste.
As with all of our ingredients and toppings, halal-certified cheese is an important part of what we put on our pizzas. The companies who supply our cheeses have gone through the proper channels to ensure their products are halal. Feel free to read more about Halal-Certified Ingredients and check out our full menu.
If you’re looking for pizza in Downers Grove, make Block Pizza your go-to, where we proudly serve fresh, made-to-order pizzas in just five minutes! Drop in today, or call in your order for pick-up or delivery: 331-777-5789.
Share